Benin

1707

Fact File
Capital: Porto-Novo
Population:
9,742,000
Time zone:  GMT +1
Plugs: Two-pin round
Dialling code: +229
Currency: CFA franc. Exchange rate: $1 = 499.888 XOF
Language: French

Visas
Citizens of the following countries do not require a visa to enter Benin:
Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo

All other nationalities will need to secure a visa before entering the country.

Cotonou
Public transport is a bit unusual in Benin’s capital city. The most common mode of transportation is the ZimZim, a motorbike. A driver in a yellow vest will take you just about anywhere and for a few extra Francs might even give you a tour of the area you find yourself in.

Airlines
Air Burkina – www.air-burkina.com
Air Cote d’Ivoire – www.aircotedivoire.com
Air France – www.airfrance.com
Air Mali – www.air-mali.com
ASKY – www.flyasky.com
Brussels Airlines – www.brusselsairlines.com
Camair – www.camair-co.cm
Cronos Airlines – www.cronosair.com
Ethiopian Airlines – www.ethiopianairlines.com
Interair South Africa – www.interair.co.za
Kenya Airways – www.kenya-airways.com
Royal Air Maroc – www.royalairmaroc.com
South African Airways – www.flysaa.com
Trans Air Congo – www.flytransaircongo.com

Hotels
Cotonou
Maison Rouge – www.maison-rouge-cotonou.com
Myosotis Residence – w ww.myosotisresidence.com
Ibis – www.ibis.com
Novotel Cotonou Orisha – www.novotel.com
Hotel du Lac – www.hoteldulac-benin.com
Benin Marina – www.benin-marina-hotel.com
Hotel du Port – www.hotelduportresort.com
Benin Atlantic Beach – www.beninatlanticbeachhotel.com

Car Hire
Avis – www.avis.com
Europcar – www.europcar.com