SWISS adds more destinations


SWISS Air is introducing services to 22 new destinations from its Zurich (Switzerland) hub with the start of the 2015 summer schedule on 29 March.


Many of the new routes are intended as ‘point-to-point’ connections, while others will receive seasonal service during the summer months. Frequencies will also be increased on a number of existing European and intercontinental routes. Service will also be expanded from Geneva (Switzerland), bringing SWISS’s Geneva-based network to 42 destinations.

Additional flights are planned to be added to existing city connections, making it easier for business travellers to manage their appointments.

From Zurich, SWISS will now fly to Leipzig and Dresden with additional frequencies to Copenhagen and Hamburg (Germany); Toulouse (France); Graz (Austria); Palermo, Bari, Naples and Brindisi (Italy); Thessaloniki (Greece); Izmir (Turkey); Malta; Bilbao and Santiago de Compostela, with additional frequencies to  Malaga, Valencia and Palma de Mallorca (Spain); Porto (Portugal); Gothenburg with additional frequencies to  Stockholm (Sweden); Helsinki (Finland); Riga (Latvia); Ljubljana (Slovenia); Krakow (Poland); Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina); Sofia (Bulgaria) and Zagreb (Croatia).

On its intercontinental network, SWISS will raise its frequencies between Zurich and San Francisco (USA) to 13 weekly flights in July and August.

From Geneva, Florence (Italy) receives four new weekly services, while Valencia (Spain), Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) and Skopje (Macedonia) will each have two weekly flights. Algiers (Algeria) and Dublin (Ireland) will also receive non-stop service.

Biarritz and Calvi (France), Palermo (Italy), Thessaloniki and Zakynthos (Greece) will all be added to the summer schedule.

Sister carrier Edelweiss will increase frequencies to Antalya (Turkey), Larnaca (Cyprus), Olbia (Italy), Split (Croatia) and Ibiza (Spain), while Faro (Portugal) and Catania (Italy) will join the network as early as next month. In addition, Podgorica and Kerkyra (Corfu) will be added to the network.

The 2015 summer schedule will be in effect from 29 March to 24 October.