Visa updates for Kenya and Turkey


From 1 September, South Africans will need to produce a visa before being allowed entry into Kenya (see story here).

ASATA has received clarification from the Kenya High Commission regarding costs for these visas. Passengers staying in Kenya for 30 days or less, including transit passengers, will be charged an administrative fee of $75 for a single entry. The visa itself is free.

For visitors staying more than 30 days, there is an administrative fee of $75, plus a $50 fee for the visa. A one-year multiple entry visa will cost $120 on top of the $75 admin charge. There is also an application fee of $15 and this visa takes four to six weeks to be issued.

Currently travellers have to apply for their visa in person in Pretoria. According to ASATA, there is a possibility that Kenya will open further offices in Cape Town and Durban.

In other news, Turkey is reducing passport validity requirements from 1 January 2015. 

According to eTNW, travellers currently need to hold a passport that is valid for at least six months. However, from the beginning of next year, passports for all foreign travellers entering Turkey will only need to be valid for 60 days from the date of expiry of a traveller’s visa, visa exemption period or residency permit, to be able to enter the country.