SA and Angola Promote Visa-Free Travel


South Africa and Angola have announced they will begin a visa-free reciprocal travel arrangement that will allow for visa-free travel for up to 90 days a year, provided each visit is 30 days or less.

From 1 December, South African and Angolan citizens will be able to visit each other’s countries without having to obtain a visa.

The news comes off the back of an announcement by Namibia that it will scrap visas for African citizens, Rwanda issuing visas on arrival for all visitors, and Ghana and Nigeria announcing they will soon do the same, but for African citizens only.

The Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC) also reached a key milestone agreement recently, making travel within the six-member regional block, comprising Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Central African Republic, Congo-Brazzaville, Gabon and Chad, visa-free.