SAA expands codeshares


According to eTurboNews, South African Airways has expanded its codeshares with both Air Seychelles and RwandAir.

The codeshare with Air Seychelles has expanded to cover the island of Praslin in the Seychelles and four new destinations in South Africa: Cape Town, Durban, Port Elizabeth and East London.

Tim Clyde-Smith, SAA’s Country Manager for Australasia, said the Seychelles is a popular destination for Australians and New Zealanders, and that this new initiative will bring more direct air links and travel options from Australasia and South Africa to this important tourist location.

SAA will place its code on six Air Seychelles flights per week between Mahe and Praslin, while Air Seychelles will place its code on 18 SAA flights per week between Johannesburg and Cape Town, Durban and Port Elizabeth, and five SAA flights per week between Johannesburg and East London.

“SAA and Air Seychelles will also partner on five additional flights between Mahe and Johannesburg on 14, 21, 28 December, and 4 and 11 January to cater for the busy holiday season,” said Clyde-Smith.

SAA has also signed an extensive bilateral codeshare arrangement with RwandAir, which will come into effect on 7 December. RwandAir will be the operating carrier, while SAA will market the route.

Rwandair flies seven times per week between Kigali and Johannesburg. Under the new agreement, RwandAir will provide feeding and de-feeding flights between its network and that of SAA’s from its hub at O.R. Tambo International Airport.  In turn, SAA customers will be able to travel between Johannesburg and Kigali on a single ticket, should they connect from another destination outside Johannesburg.