Senegal

1253

Fact File
Capital: Dakar
Population:
13,567,000
Time zone: GMT 0
Plugs: Two and three pin round
Dialling code: +221
Currency: CFA franc. Exchange rate: $1 = 499.888 XOF
Language: French

Visas
The following countries can enter Senegal without a visa for up to 90 days:
Austria, Belgium, Benin, Burkina Faso, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Denmark, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Great Britain, Greece, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Liberia, Luxembourg, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Netherlands, Nigeria, Portugal, Togo, Tunisia, Sierra Leone, Spain, South-Africa, Sweden, Taiwan and USA.

All other passport holders require a visa before travelling to Senegal.

DAKAR

Climate
Dakar is generally warm, with a hot semi-arid climate. The short rainy season lasts for four months – from July to October. Winter and spring, between December and May, is usually pleasantly warm, with temperatures sitting around 25ºC during the day and 19ºC at night. Summer temperatures range from lows of 24ºC to highs of 31ºC.

Health
As there is a risk of contracting Yellow Fever in Senegal, it is advisable to get vaccinated. The government of Senegal requires proof of Yellow Fever vaccination if you are travelling from a country with risk of yellow fever.

Tyhoid and Hepatitis A and B vaccinations are also recommended, as is a malaria prophylaxis.

Hotels
Dakar

Al Baraka – www.hotelbaraka.com
Hotel Du Phare Les Mamelles – www.hotelduphare-dakar.com
Hotel Farid – www.hotelfarid.com
Hotel Le Djoloff – www.hoteldjoloff.com
Hotel Miramar – www.hilton.com
Ibis – www.accorhotels.com
King Fahd Palace – www.kingfahdpalacehotels.com
La Demeure – www.lademeure-guesthouse.com
La Madrague Ngor – www.hotel-madrague.com
La Villa Racine – www.lavillaracine.com
Les Lodge des Almadies – www.lodgedesalmadies.com
Novotel – www.novotel.com
Onomo Dakar Airport – www.onomohotel.com
Pullman Dakar Teranga – www.accorhotels.com
Radisson Blu – www.radissonblu.com/hotel-dakar
Residences Mamoune – www.residences-mamoune.com
Rysara Hotel – www.rysarahotel.sn
Savana Jardin – www.savana.sn
Sokhamon – www.hotelsokhamon.com
Sunugal – www.hotelsunugal.com
Terrou-Bi – www.terroubi.com

Airlines
Afrinat Airlines – www.afrinat.com
Air Algerie – www.airalgerie.dz
Air Burkina – www.air-burkina.com
Air Cote d’Ivoire – www.aircotedivoire.com
Air France – www.airfrance.com
Air Mali – www.air-mali.com
Arik Air – www.arikair.com
ASKY – www.flyasky.com
Brussels Airlines – www.brusselsairlines.com
Delta Air Lines – www.delta.com
Emirates – www.emirates.com
Ethiopian Airlines – www.ethiopianairlines.com
Iberia – www.iberia.com
Kenya Airways – www.kenya-airways.com
Meridiana – www.meridiana.it Slok Air International – www.slok-air.com
South African Airways – www.flysaa.com
TACV – www.flytacv.com
TAP – www.flytap.com
THY Turkish Airlines – www.thy.com
Tunisair – www.tunisair.com

Car Hire
Avis – www.avis.com
Budget – www.budget.com
Europcar – www.europcar.com
Hertz Car Hire – www.hertz.co.uk

SHARE
Previous articleRwanda
Next articleSeychelles