ASATA Column: ASATA’s New Board Members


At our recently held AGM, ASATA elected its new board for the coming year. With our recently-adopted funding model in place, it was the first time we applied the new voting process to elect our board members, based on market share. We also used the opportunity to call an extraordinary general meeting to approve several motions, including the securing of two additional board positions to include representatives from our wholesale and partner sections.

ASATA’s new Board Members are:

Claude Vankeirsbilck, President

Vanya Lessing, Vice-President

James Sedgwick, Treasurer

Otto de Vries, CEO ASATA

Additional Members are:

Garth Wolff, E Travel

Bronwyn Philipps, HRG Rennies Travel

George Argyropoulos, Wholesale Member

Charmaine Hardwick, Partner Member

Claude Vankeirsbilck is the Chief Sales Officer of Tourvest Travel Services. In this role, Claude leads the New Business Development division and is responsible for building and maintaining executive-level relationships with the TTS corporate client base.

Vanya Lessing is the CEO of Sure Holdings. Her key responsibilities are to look after the commercial interests of the Sure Group stakeholders – shareholders, licensees and suppliers.

James Sedgwick comes from a financial background, having worked in the auditing profession before moving into the financial services sector. His involvement in travel comes through his directorship of Fishhoek Travel, as well as the Sure Group.

Otto de Vries is the CEO of ASATA. He was previously Managing Director of Holiday Tours and Holiday Travel, and has been in the travel and tourism industry for over 25 years.

Garth Wolff is CEO of E Travel. Bronwyn Philipps is the Managing Director of HRG Rennies Travel. Charmaine Hardwick serves as Group Sales Director at Protea Hotels. George Argyropoulos is the Managing Director of Cruises International.

The new board not only represents consistency as we work through the implementation of our strategy of compliance, consensus and confidence, but also includes three new board members, each bringing with them invaluable experience, input and guidance and helping to ensure that our vision of championing ASATA members as the consumer’s channel of choice when buying travel products and services, is achieved.

Otto de Vries