Algeria

2556
Fact File Capital: Algiers Population: 38,295,000 Time zone: GMT 0 Plugs: Two-pin round Dialling code: +213 Currency: Algerian dinar. Exchange rate: $1= DZD78.4 Language: Arabic Visa All non-Algerians need to apply for a visa to enter Algeria, with a few exceptions. Nationals from the following countries do not require a visa to travel to Algeria: Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Seychelles, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Yemen Nationals of these States, holding Diplomatic Passports, do not need a visa to travel to Algeria: Argentina, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Romania Nationals of these States, holding Diplomatic or Official Passports (Passeports de service), do not need a visa to travel to Algeria: Albania, Benin, Brazil, Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia, Greece, Guinea, Italy, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Niger, Peru, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Senegal, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela, Vietnam Public transport There are a number of ways to get around the country – planes, trains, taxis and busses. There are 55 airports throughout the country, making most areas accessible. For travel between neighbouring towns, or to one of the major cities, the bus is the way to go. To reach an outlying town you’ll need to change busses and possible catch a taxi, but there are certainly ways of getting to your destination. Algiers The capital city is located in the north-central part of the country, on the Mediterranean Sea. The city’s main industries include oil refining, metal works, food, and petrochemicals. It exports iron, grain, citrus fruit, wine, phosphates, oil, and vegetables. The best way to get around Algiers is either by bus or taxi. Both modes of transport are reasonably priced. There is a train system running its reach is somewhat limited. From the airport, you can catch a taxi outside Hall 2; make sure to agree on the cost of the trip beforehand as there are no metres in the vehicles. A bus departs the airport every half hour for the city centre. You pay the bus driver for a ride. From the city centre, you can reach the surrounding suburbs. Airlines Aigle Azur – www.aigle-azur.com Air Algerie – www.airalgerie.dz Air France – www.airfrance.com Alitalia – www.alitalia.com EgyptAir – www.egyptair.com Emirates – www.emirates.com Iberia – www.iberia.com Lufthansa – www.lufthansa.com Royal Jordanian Airlines – www.rj.com Saudi Arabian Airlines – www.saudiairlines.com Syrian Air – www.syrianair.com TAP – www.flytap.com THY Turkish Airlines – www.thy.com Tunisair – www.tunisair.com Hotels Algiers Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden – www.sofitel.com Hilton – www.hilton.com IBIS Alger Aeroport – www.ibis.com Sweet Rouiba – www.sweethotel.net Palace Appart Hotel Bordj El-Kiffan – www.palacecenter.com El Aurassi Hotel – www.el-aurassi.com Hotel Suisse Alger – www.hotelsuisse-dz.com El-Djazair – www.chaineeldjazair.com Mercure Algaer Aeroprt – www.mercure.com Safir Mazafran – www.safirhotels.com Dar Diaf Bouchaoui – www.dardiafbouchauoi.com Oasis – www.oasishotel-dz.com Dar Diaf Alger – www.dar-diaf.com Hotel d’Hydra – www.hotelhydra.dz Grannd Adghir – www.grouphotelsadghir.com Emir – www.hotelemir.com.dz Abbasside Palace – www.abbassidehotelpalace.com Car Hire Hertz Car Hire – www.hertz.co.uk